Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 82 Likes Search this Thread
12-22-2017, 05:41 PM   #1

Processing aesthetics--why this look?

I'm fairly new to photography, still playing with a point-and-shoot. I like it because it fits neatly in a purse, and it doesn't hurt that it's seriously easy to use. Optio Vs20, if you're curious.

I also like ease in processing, and this brought me to this question. I don't like obvious processing, and yet judging by the monthly photo contests most folks here do. Colors are beautiful but unnatural to my eyes. Rather than pick on anyone here, I'll show you an ad that sums it up for me.

I like the picture on the left better than the reindeer on the right, by far. If this were my photo I'd maybe sharpen a little bit, maybe soft-focus/fog the tree directly behind the buck a little, but otherwise leave the picture alone.

What do you consider ideal for a picture? Is my taste for the natural unusual, out of fashion, or does it mark me as an amateur?

Attached Images

12-22-2017, 05:49 PM - 1 Like   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The photo on the right is overprocessed, in my opinion and I would be unlikely to buy the tool. It is a matter of taste and as we all know, there is no accounting for taste.

Steve
12-22-2017, 05:57 PM - 2 Likes   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Thats been my observation too. I find the one on the right a bit over processed for my liking. The one on the left looks better to me.

On Flickr people seem to love photos that processed to the point they look artificial. To be fair sometimes that can work (depending on the scene and story its telling) but the problem is just regular landscapes are often tweaked to the point that it doesn't look like pleasant scene anymore. My other pet hate is over done + over used HDR photography - again obviously a lot of people must like it as some of these photos have a lot of views and favourites.