Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-07-2018, 06:43 AM - 2 Likes   #1

Pentax lens conundrum for professionals

Since I figured out that swapping from Canon to Pentax (with the K1 arriving tomorrow), I think I have read about every compatible FF lens there is. Geeked out.

But now I realise I'm going round in circles and I would like, if possible, some hands on advice or input.

I'm used to working with large format Sinar equipment, but since turning freelance this is no longer an option, nor is it needed. Obviously with this kit I've always used fixed lenses and move the camera. I'm a studio photographer, I've attached some work below, shot with a variety of cameras.

So first I went down the thought process of older fixed 'A' lenses, and found the ones I'd use, 24, 35, 50, 100...

Then I thought about the SMC FA lenses, in fact I have bought a 50mm macro from here. Obvious upside is AF, although I really only need that from between 24-50 range as I often shoot textiles from up a ladder, health and safety would not be happy.

My opinion is mixed, I'm quite an old school photographer and love the romance of using the old A series lenses but the K1 is anything but old school. So perhaps I should just save up a bit and get the chunk that is the D-FA 24-70 that was designed for the camera - I am a professional after all, and it does look pro! I'd probably only need that lens and the 50mm macro.

I was on a shoot last week, was actually using a Nikon D800E. I could tell that one of the people I was working for was a little 'what, you don't even have a medium format camera?' face on her. It made me think, if this Nikon can possibly be frowned upon what will people think with me turning up with a Pentax with old fixed 'A' lenses on!!! I know it shouldn't matter what people think, especially if clients are more than happy with the results (which they were), but it does in such a competitive market.