Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 23 Likes Search this Thread
02-11-2018, 06:20 PM - 1 Like   #16
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by monochrome Quote
I’m not certain borrowing funds from is the right idea. All my life I’ve collected hobby gear over and above what I use day-to-day. The pursuit is the fun (and eBay is easier than hobby shops and newsletters).

I started trading cameras and lenses on eBay in 1999. Since about 2007 all the good stuff has already been put away or gotten crazy expensive. So - is this ‘borrowing’ funds from? Over the last five years I have:
  • Sold all my Fly Fishing rods and reels and my antique Hardy Perfects
  • Sold my brass HOn3 D&RG locomotives, finished rolling stock and models (+ associated signaling and detection)
  • Sold my extensive collection of Scouting patches and memorabilia
  • Sold my collection of Salmon Flies
  • Sold my knife collection
Borrowing funds? Hmmmm. I guess you could look at it that way. (Thankfully I don’t do guitars). My wife collects W. Britain Toy Soldiers and model figures. That’s pretty extreme.

AFA Matchbox vs. Hot Wheels, my brother and I did Corgi Diecast vehicles. He has that collection.
Finished the guitar thing almost three years ago. Took a 17-year break and went hog-wild till I had 10 quality versions(six at one time)and have now scaled back five. I only play two of them as I want to will two acoustics and two electrics to my two girls. I took a 12-year break from Photography and went crazy to the point of buying the "Three Amigo's" three times till I had the colored bags.

I still have to finish the Audio system and dedicated room. Sigh.

02-11-2018, 06:51 PM   #17
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums