Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-12-2018, 12:38 PM - 2 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I was a Horrible Photographer (An inspirational message)

I have, for some time taken a break from photography. I only recently came back after having spent roughly the equivalent of a k-1 kit on a mountain bike and gear (old hobby I still very much enjoy).

Part of my return involved looking at old photos, and seeing what I did wrong or where I could do better. The trip down memory lane also kinda got me down, believing I sucked then, perhaps I am not any better now.

Well that appears to not be true, I do pretty ok (most of the time) and it appears I am not the only one with this line of progression. What is really cool is when you see someone who is a professional photographer be willing to open up their archives and share their humble beginning photographs and be willing to say "Yep that was me and man have I come a long way and so will you"

So I give you, this guy Peter Mckinnon. I don't know much about him other than he was willing to share, critique, and laugh at his photographs from when he started as well as compare them to where he is now 13+ years later.

Do you have a story like mine or his? Care to show examples of when you started to where you are now? Please do! It may just help bring someone back to our fantastic hobby!

03-12-2018, 01:49 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Pentaxian

Location: Jessica Lake, Whiteshell Provincial Park, Manitoba, Canada
Photos: Gallery | Albums
A great reminder that we have all grown as photographers and will continue to do so. I know I have learned a lot since I picked up my first camera as a 11 year old. At that time it was considered good if I got the subject in the frame - focusing correctly was optional. As an 11 year old I took a cruise around the Baltic Sea as a school trip and was given the camera and a couple of folks of film. Very few of those shots are useful.