Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-17-2018, 02:29 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Vintage glass, RAW or JPEG?

RAW. Thread closed

But is it quite so cut and dried? I have LBA which has led to me having ten vintage manual lenses. I want to exploit their characteristics so I am going to put them on my K30 and play. Now normally I shoot RAW and process but am I losing the character of the lens by doing that? And if I am not going to process (I am thinking of using this as a no prosessing, wysiwyg challenge) do I need to shoot RAW at all? After all, the K30/50/70 does a nice job of jpeg! Thoughts? I am still a newbie and every day is a school day.

04-17-2018, 02:41 PM   #2
Ari
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Shoot in RAW - it's not that you are going to gain or lose anything (much) while shooting, but you will gain much more flexibility in post. And, because Pentax is one of the few cameras that can actually shoot in DNG natively, you don't have to spend time converting your RAW images before working on them.
04-17-2018, 02:50 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Ari Quote
Shoot in RAW - it's not that you are going to gain or lose anything (much) while shooting, but you will gain much more flexibility in post. And, because Pentax is one of the few cameras that can actually shoot in DNG natively, you don't have to spend time converting your RAW images before working on them.
Ok I will be using my K30 rather than my K3 so file size wont be an issue and raw is a more genuine representation of what you captured. Also, if I decided not to process, I guess jpeg defeats the object. It will be interesting to see if anyone uses jpeg and why though.
04-17-2018, 03:06 PM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Cerebum Quote
After all, the K30/50/70 does a nice job of jpeg!