Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 32 Likes Search this Thread
05-24-2018, 12:23 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Eye damage from the sun

Hi
I had an attack of the stupids earlier and pointed my tak 100mm directly at the sun. We are talking half a second or less. 4 hours on and my eye is aching, like it was poked with a finger. Not agony, just uncomfortable. My eyesight seems fine. Could I have done some damage or is it most likely to be short lived?

05-24-2018, 12:32 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Hope that is temporary. Talk to pharmacist, get an Eye drops. Eye drops may accelerate healing process. Closing eye and resting helps.
05-24-2018, 12:38 PM - 1 Like   #3

Here?s How To Tell If You Damaged Your Eyes From Staring At The Sun

This is one of the better articles I came across on the internet, but I'm no doctor. My understanding is that it is possible, but unlikely to have resulted in any permanent damage in particular. I'd be vigilant and consider seeking professional advice if it persists.
05-24-2018, 12:47 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Thanks

05-24-2018, 01:32 PM   #5

It can take years for some damage to the retina to show up.
05-24-2018, 01:51 PM - 3 Likes   #6
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Not a Number Quote
It can take years for some damage to the retina to show up.
Well, that's put his mind at rest
05-24-2018, 02:14 PM - 1 Like   #7
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I assume you were looking through your VF at the time and got the bright flash that way. It's unlikely that you incurred eye damage due to the short duration you mentioned and the fact that you would have been exposed to less light than a direct exposure since your lens and VF loses light along the way.