Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-01-2018, 04:33 PM - 1 Like   #1
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
F-Stoppers do it again ... now the DoF myth.

No, Larger Sensors Do Not Produce Shallower Depth of Field | Fstoppers

06-01-2018, 04:48 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I am an ignorant newb, Is this good info or are you taking the Pi** again?
06-01-2018, 04:56 PM - 2 Likes   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
Yeah, good info, SG.

When 'experts' show reduced depth of field they've also moved the camera closer to the subject to compensate for FF's wider field of view - they haven't controlled variables.

If you hadn't seen it in this thread, they also did one busting the 'tele lenses compress' myth.
06-01-2018, 05:03 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I saw all the hubbub about it but had not had time to watch that one yet. This one is probably more important to me as far as a knowledge base than the zoom controversy.

PS We need more than 1300 posts a day, so get posting! Tell us where you find all the pretty models you shoot!

06-01-2018, 05:10 PM - 1 Like   #5
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by SSGGeezer Quote
I saw all the hubbub about it but had not had time to watch that one yet. This one is probably more important to me as far as a knowledge base than the zoom controversy.
Yeah, I've even got nice bokeh on a 20mm Voigtlander on the K-1.

The key is with whatever camera you're shooting to get as close as you can with the longest lens and the widest aperture with the background as far away as possible.

PS We need more than 1300 posts a day, so get posting! Tell us where you find all the pretty models you shoot!