Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-09-2018, 02:08 PM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photographers, those who were, and are, just a tad better.

Pondered with the idea of a social group for this. In the largest sense, what photographer's work is special to you? My background is history (professionally, I suppose everyone's background is history). I just finished Timothy Egan's book about Curtis (recommend it). This led to Timothy O'Sullivan. I have only just glanced at Library of Congress collections. This is me. I really would like suggestions of other photographers modern or historic that you find special, and dare i say,why?. We can learn much from those who did.

07-09-2018, 02:11 PM   #2
Death89

I haven't even bothered exploring historic photography yet! I just take pictures that please me. And look at the various model specific threads here and the monthly competitions for inspiration of course.

One day I have the time for both, I'm sure of it...
07-09-2018, 02:39 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
A contemporary photographer who consistently astonishes me is Dougie Wallace. This guy dips his lenses in venom.

THE AGE OF WEALTH ? DOUGIE WALLACE
07-09-2018, 02:54 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

As a student, I was always in awe of the macro photographs of Heather Angel:

Heather Angel - Wildlife, Nature, Macro Photography

07-09-2018, 04:40 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sam Abell has been published in NatGeo and elsewhere.
He graciously gives his time and talent in judging and selecting photographs submitted for our town's annual photo contest. Best of all, he crtitiques each of the selected works in a presentation, and I have both been inspired and learned tremendously by his guidance.

Joel Meyerowitz was a huge inspiration for me, especially his Cape Light series