Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 28 Likes Search this Thread
08-19-2018, 12:40 PM - 1 Like   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
What gear would you pack for a zombie apocalypse?

As a fan of The Walking Dead as well as a keen photographer, I can't help wondering what sort of camera and lenses one would take along to document one's travels in such a scenario. Assuming that having a camera won't affect one chance of survival, of course. The weight might slow you down. Stopping to take pictures might allow the zombies or the bad guys to get you because of divided attention. But let's assume that taking pictures is possible in our version of doomsday. It would be good to document the events for future generations. The Walking Dead heroes packed a great variety of firepower, but no camera gear. I would like to set that straight. What should they have done?

The first concern is battery life. A mechanical film camera such a Pentax MX with little need for batteries (sunny f/16 rule and all that) would work great. Until you run out of film, that is. Developing the film might be a hassle during a zombie apocalypse, as well. Rick and his crew has sure moved around a lot. So digital it would have to be. A very compact camera such as the Pentax Q would be a good choice, but I have no knowledge of the system and can't comment on its suitability. A small MILC such as my Samsung NX100 might work. It fits in a coat pocket but how do I charge the battery? That brings me to the next point.

Sticking to what I know and what I already have, my Pentax K-x is looking good. The one big advantage is that it takes double A's. There should be plenty of those around to last me a while. Batteries will be right up there with food on my list of stuff to loot for post apocalyptic shopping. It is quite compact for an APS-C and the weather sealing and tough chassis will be of help.