Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 21 Likes Search this Thread
08-29-2018, 04:11 AM - 4 Likes   #1
Pentaxian

I called it "The Salieri Syndrome" - Some of you might relate.

Two words about myself first:
I am an Architect by profession who dived into Pentax cameras about 2 years ago by a contact with a ME super system. I fell in love with the film camera and starting shooting film for some time. then I wanted more, more frames, more pixels, more versatility and I got me a second hand k-x(digital one). After shooting with it for a year and a half I jumped to a k-30, the leap was huge, illuminated AF points, are you kidding me?!

Paradoxically, not only did I not see any improvement in my pictures, they seem to get worse, endless pictures of no value to me whatsoever. I had occasional views with people who weren't very enthusiastic about them. I am talking about people who take a couple of lessons about picture composition, learn the rule of thirds and think that's all photography is about.
(Now you have to keep in mind, In architecture school we had drawing classes and graphical representations of projects, hence my photography composition was waaay off at the begining.)

So my artistic side grew more insecure with the passing of time. I kept on shooting pictures, editing them, but rarely shared them. and in the meanwhile my own critique over my work begun evolving, I started deleting more pictures, I started taking the finger off the shutter more often, I started keeping the shadows low and the highlights high. all this in a process of overthinking throughout the whole process. I visited photo expos, and started unconsciously developing a critique side, this mostly on the pentaxians comunity, here and on the FB page. the more my critiquing side grew the more I hesitated to create my own work, over analyzing an pre-critiquing my shots... and then it hit me... "I AM SALIERI!!"