Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 49 Likes Search this Thread
10-18-2018, 09:55 PM - 3 Likes   #1

Photos: Gallery
A simpler camera

Would you agree that cameras have become extremely complicated? I'm an engineer and developer myself but even I get confused with all the new options, controls and menus

I know friends and families who were and are really good photographers with film cameras but just never felt confident with digital cameras.

Do you think there is a market for a simpler camera? with less controls? let's say a digital version of LX?

10-18-2018, 10:25 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Samwise.Gamgee Quote
Do you think there is a market for a simpler camera? with less controls? let's say a digital version of LX?
Absolutely yes, I fully agree. I also agree that for those that want one the technical cameras should exist.
For me, strip out all that unnecessary rubbish like gps, wifi, video (just have a live view).

But for those that don't like the technical side, I'm glad the cameras have the manual operation of exposure, so it exists on the Pentax digital camera that the operator can take control of settings manually, just like they would on a film camera.
10-18-2018, 10:26 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I personally would love a digital Olympus XA. An actual 35mm f2.8 (or APS-C equivalent) manually focused rangefinder, or at least an AF camera with an optical viewfinder, that fits in my pocket and who’s battery lasts forever. It only needs one central focus point (or the rangefinder patch), manually selected apertures with automatic shutter speeds, leaf shutter so it’s quiet, and most importantly pocketable.

So far the Ricoh GR is closest to what I want, so it might come for Christmas.

For my DSLR? Give me Hyper-Program and I’m pretty happy.
10-18-2018, 10:35 PM - 3 Likes   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Do you think there is a market for a simpler camera?