Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 88 Likes Search this Thread
12-03-2018, 05:41 AM - 4 Likes   #46
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
As a longtime Pentax user and a longtime Mad Magizine reader, the "Snappy answer's to stupid questions" section In Mad is great to keep yourself prepared when using a Pentax in public.....

12-05-2018, 10:05 PM   #47
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by tscip22 Quote
I do agree that the original comment from the event shooter was disingenuous. After reading the comments here that followed, I am interested in turning the conversation in a slightly different direction.

When I was a newer DSLR amateaur photographer, I would bring my camera to all events that I was attending as a guest. Choir concerts, pagents, even weddings. I soon realized that I was being a little disrespectful to the event shooter. My gear now stays home. It is less of an issue with all the smartphone cameras that come out at any event, but I still feel that a formal event like a wedding, leave the big gear at home.

Again, I am not saying I am right about this, I was just interested in what others think.

A pro who can’t deal pleasantly with Uncle Harrys is going to have annoyed clients. It goes with the territory.

A pro who doesn’t pay himself with his show-up price is going to go broke. The days of making the money on albums and enlargements are long gone.

Bring your camera and don’t worry about it, but do give the pro first shot and don’t distract his subjects until he’s done.

As to disparaging someone’s camera, that’s just social ineptitude. It’s hard to take that sort of thing seriously.