Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-02-2019, 05:39 PM - 12 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

A Proper Goodbye to Pentax

About 2 years ago, I posted a thread on here that I was leaving Pentax. But from that time on, I was still using my Pentax gears for all my personal work and rent Canon /Sony for some client works.
A few months ago, I decided to buy into Sony's system with the A7r III. I haven't been using my Pentax kit since then and I'm about to post it on the marketplace.
So this is the real goodbye to the brand and community that helped me become a photographer.

My first camera was the Pentax K100D. I bought into Pentax in 2009 after I stumbled on Ben Kanarek's work which led me to this forum. Below is the only photo I have left from using that camera.

K100D, Takumar 135mm

I then made the jump to the Pentax K-7. That was the first time I felt like I could actually do photography for a living. I used to live in Central Florida and drive down to Miami to shoot models.

K-7, FA77mm (all three shots)

I switched to the K-5 once I felt like the K-7 was limiting my work. That probably was a lie back then but buying it wasn't a bad decision.

K-5, DA 40mm (left), FA 77mm (right)

I bought the K3 right after I moved to NYC in 2014. That was when I started to take photography seriously. A majority of my work with this camera was for fashion magazines and my personal projects which ended up in many fine art publications.

K-3, FA 77mm (left) | DA 40mm (mid) | DA 40mm (right)

I almost gave up on Pentax after the K3 to move to a full-frame system. Then the K-1 came out. I bought one in late 2016 and thought it was the perfect camera until I started doing jobs that were requiring tethering. This camera has been responsible for my best work so far. Same with the FA 77mm. I would say 70% of the photos in my current portfolio were shot with that lens/camera combo.

K-1, D FA 24-70mm (left) | FA 77mm (right)