Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
09-14-2019, 02:11 PM   #1

Tripod Help

Hello Pentaxians,

I am relatively new to photography, and am looking to purchase my first tripod, but have some general questions I am hoping to get some guidance on. I enjoy landscape, street, nighttime and macro photography. I intend on using the tripod primarily on backpacking trips and road trips to various locations, and less frequently in the city. I shoot primarily primes in the 15mm - 100mm range, but could potentially shoot up to 200mm/300mm.

I am looking at the RRS 24L and 34L tripods. Given that I don't intend to shoot over 300mm, the RRS sales representative recommended I purchase the 24L.

My question is this: even if a lens is well within a tripod's given threshold, is there any material photographic advantage to purchasing a larger tripod? For example, if I'm shooting a long exposure shots such as a night shot or astrophotography, does a beefier tripod potentially provide a sharper image even if the lens' focal length is shorter? Additional factors, such as windy days, would also seem to lend itself to the 34L.

I intend on getting the fixed apex since I don't plan on using a center column or leveling base (I'm purchasing the Acratech GP that can serve as a leveling base). The size and dimensions of the TFC 24L/34L are virtually identical, the only real difference is the 34L is .75lbs heavier. I don't mind carrying the extra weight backpacking if it could potentially provide higher quality pictures, but don't wan't to purchase if the extra size doesn't provide any benefits.

Thoughts??

09-14-2019, 03:18 PM - 1 Like   #2

I can't imagine 40 libs max or 50 libs max making a difference for a 10 lib load (or less)

It is actually the tripod head that matters more.