11-07-2019, 11:53 PM - 1 Like   #46
Veteran Member

I'm on the run, but just saw this video:

11-08-2019, 12:16 PM - 1 Like   #47
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Lowell Goudge Quote
Suck it up and use either the USB cord or a card reader to upload or use your picks on your Android or iDevices and get on with enjoying the camera.
It can be very difficult to get photos from, say, a K-3ii to a phone. Many Android phones don't support exFAT, which is the file system Pentax SD cards have to use. You have to get a card reader, probably a USB-C adapter cable, purchase a 3rd-party app that enables exFAT support, then you should be able to manually transfer files from the card to the phone... phew.

I tried this a year or two ago and gave up, the exFAT apps for Android at the time were less than optimal, and being a degreed electrical engineer I didn't quite have the technical chops to make it work. So when I go on vacation I'm lucky that my kids like to drag around their laptops which I then steal when we're at a hotel or equivalent to upload some photos to either my Google site or social media for the family and friends back home. Or just to do backups to the cloud.

Is it really too much to ask that the camera make that a bit less of a chore? There are now toasters, refrigerators, my car and lots of other things that seamlessly integrate with the internet (whether there's any real reason for them to do that or not). But my relatively recent camera, whose job is to take photos I need to get off camera to do things with, doesn't. At all. I'm basically using a high-capacity floppy drive with a proprietary file system every time I want to do something with a photo.

And God forbid I forgot to correctly eject the SD card with the computer after I'm done transferring pics, or the camera won't recognize it at all. If I can't get back to the computer it'll need to be formatted. This is in 2019.
11-08-2019, 03:17 PM   #48
Pentaxian