Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
3 Days Ago   #1
Veteran Member

The love of vintage film camera

I am not an expert in this area, but happened to know a Russian photographer and he found me something nice and interesting, 2 camera in particular I would like to bring out namely the Fed II and the Leningrad.

The Fed II has a very smooth shutter like the Leica, it is not too hard to find and not expensive, not a hot item in vintage camera nothing too special, but I like the sound and handling of it, it is a poor man's Leica.

The Leningrad is very special has a spring loaded film advancing mechanism, can shoot up to 20 frame at 3fs in a full wind, due to the 'high speed' film advancing it uses a very smooth glass film pressure plate and it is fragile, the one on my first copy broken due to long shipment from Russian, luckily the 2nd shipment arrived safe and sound, if you are interested to get one, be sure to pay more for express shipment.

3 Days Ago   #2
Pentaxian

I've always wanted to have a go with a Rollei 35.
3 Days Ago   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I got a 35s long time ago, now still on my ebay search !
3 Days Ago   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Iíve shot with Leicas and I have a Fed 2. They arenít the same. The Leicas are far smoother in pretty much every way. That said, I like the Fed.

I bought a Petri Color 35 as a poor manís Rollei 35. I like it a lot, but the tiny form factor isnít ideal for everyone...

-Eric

3 Days Ago   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Yes Leica is smoother of course, I actually got a M2 used long time ago, also a Minolta CLE 40mm. Poor me I couldn't afford other lenses and I was still young to know the art of photography back then, the setup was simply to serve the purpose of ďhaving a Leicaď, so I traded the set for something more suit for me.
3 Days Ago   #6
PJ1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums