Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 21 Likes Search this Thread
01-21-2020, 06:54 PM - 14 Likes   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A new pair of glasses......

Over the weekend I received an email and a voice message that my new glasses were in, so come on by and pick them up. I've been wearing glasses since I was 6 months old. Now, I'm pushing 70 in a few months, I have always been very appreciative of glasses, but this pair that I just acquired is really special.

For the last 10 years, I've gone through about 8+ pairs of prescription sunglasses, none of which have been quite right - especially when driving and trying to read the street signs. Good, but just not as good as my regular set of glasses - just ever so slightly off. So for the last 10 years, I've not been willing to get a new regular prescription set until I knew what was going on. My Ophthalmologist and I have been trying to figure this out - and finally he figured out that it was the type of optical glass my (now very old) clear set of glasses were made of. A Zeiss high index optical glass formula that is no longer available.

One day, I just let google do the searching, picked up the phone and called Zeiss Vision, USA to find out how much a special run of this particular old optical glass formulation would cost me. I was to the point of just about willing to pay anything for a new set of glasses that would perform as expected. Zeiss over in La Jolla, CA - told me that they keep a small batch of the "special stuff" on hand, just for folks like myself (I was not the only one, and they field similar calls all the time), My Ophthalmologist just needs to specifically designate the optical glass type and direct the optical lab to special order it from them - and they will deliver.