Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-30-2020, 11:19 AM - 6 Likes   #1
Custom User Title
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Just Chatting

Hello, my name is Stephen and I like to talk about Pentax cameras:

My parents, I must give credit, started me in this awesome hobby. As a university graduation present, I was offered an entry-level camera of my choice. My mom is an extremely active birder (Canon SX60 HS) and shoots mainly for her Facebook groups. Although not nearly as tech-oriented as myself (hates even changing lenses), my mom pushed me to get a bridge Canon as well. Being completely naïve to photography, and perhaps as a welcome distraction from finishing my studies, I started researching different camera makes and models and found that Pentax much more closely fit what I had in mind for a camera.

I studied in Environmental Science including post-grad concentrating on river management. I was in the field often, and my stuff got wet. Therefore, a new camera must be weather resistant. This statement alone strongly disfavored most (all?) other major camera brands. For both Canon and Nikon, you would have had to afford their mid-tier, enthusiast-grade gear to get the weather sealing. As a poor student at the time, these options seemed more cost-prohibitive. And speaking of cost-prohibitive, mirrorless (cough Sony cough) options seemed absolutely absurd.

In addition to weather-sealing, Pentax offered in their entry-level camera (2015; Pentax K-S2 vs. Canon T6i), what other companies withhold until you upgrade into much more expensive models such as pentaprisms instead of pentamirrors, dual-control wheels, faster max shutter speed, wider viewfinder coverage, and more AE bracketing stops. On top of that, Pentax offered in-body stabilization, no anti-aliasing (simulated if you wanted it), and astrotracer capabilities - all in a smaller, tougher-built, more affordable package. It was an obvious choice.