Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
11-16-2020, 05:22 AM - 1 Like   #16
Pentaxian

Not a hiker as such, but for a day's birding I'll carry bins round my neck, Leica scope on c/f tripod on shoulder, and a backpack with K3, 18-135, 55-300, 50 and Sigma 105 macro in the lower compartment, sandwiches, chocolate, water bottle, first aid kit and camera cleaning gear (in sealed container) in upper compartment - and these days, hand sanitizer and face masks. Usually walk between 4-7 miles (mainly on the flat, admittedly) - and I'm 70 in five months (HINT !!!!! HINT !!!!!). Doctor says lugging that lot around keeps me fitter than any gym, and I'm out in the fresh air to boot.

11-16-2020, 06:27 AM   #17
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by DWS1 Quote
I'm 65+ years old and have been taking a K70 w/16-85mm
Good setup, I'd say.

I've been using the K-1 with 28-105 for a few years now. If owned it, I might bring a Ricoh GR III, that one would be a fantastic. Last week I got a Sony A7C and coupled with a small lens it will make a killer hiking camera.
11-16-2020, 06:48 AM   #18
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
My flatmate has a 1/2.3"-sensored Sony HX400V, which weighs about 650g and has you more or less covered in good light. Takes more than decent enough photos at low iso, methinks. You'd be basically carrying just the K-70 body without any lenses.
11-16-2020, 07:14 AM   #19
Site Supporter
Site Supporter