Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-29-2021, 04:29 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Reciprocal rule and crop sensors

My understanding is a 50mm is always a 50mm. A crop sensor doesn't magnify, it simply captures less of the scene. I was reading an article in Amateur Photographer in which the author stated you needed to include crop factor multiplication when calculating a reciprocal shutter speed (50mm/ 1/50, 200mm/ 1/200 etc). I think he is wrong, but I am no expert. My understanding (as stated above) is as a 105mm is always a 105mm, irrespective of the sensor, the reciprocal shutter speed shouldn't change either (1/105+). So, am I wrong, again? lol

This ties in with my previous thread but I didn't want the question lost in one that isn't active.

01-29-2021, 04:55 AM - 6 Likes   #2
amateur dirt farmer
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
yet another rule I keep ignoring.....
01-29-2021, 05:32 AM - 3 Likes   #3
Veteran Member

The reciprocal rule isn't based on the focal length of the lens but the narrowing of the angle of view. The narrower an angle of view becomes the more camera shake is noticeable. So with a crop sensor being smaller narrowing the angle of view captured vs a wider angle of a full frame sensor using the same lens the shutter speed needs to increase respectively using the effective focal length.