Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
05-07-2021, 07:45 AM - 2 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Focusing Beyond Infinity.

After years of nodding sagely with feigned understanding, I finally admitted to myself my ignorance and yielded to my curiosity and the better angels of my education. I went off to find out just what is meant by the term “focusing beyond infinity.”

By way of background, I am a mathematics teacher. So you may be able to understand my consternation when I would read about a lens’ ability (or inability) to focus past infinity. To a math guy, this just isn’t going to happen. Infinity is something that is boundless, or, mathematically, it is something that is larger than any real number.

In other words, by definition, there is nothing beyond infinity.

So I have read a number of explanations (including this one on the Forum and this very fascinating article on the B&H website), and I think I kinda, sorta, maybe understand the concept. What I don’t understand is the poorly chosen phrase to describe what is being done.

Perhaps the better phrase would be “past the ∞ mark.” But then as Timothy H. asked in a response to the B&H article, “...exactly where on the infinity mark is infinity?”

Isn’t it interesting how questions beget other questions…

05-07-2021, 07:52 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Veteran Member

In my limited understanding of optics, infinity is not so much an unbounded value, but rather the distance where a light source is far enough away that the rays are effectively coming in parallel to each other. And that the phrase "focusing at infinity" means the focus arrangement that parallel light rays will be perfectly focused on the sensor.