Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2021, 11:20 PM - 1 Like   #1

Give them a reason why to get into photography

I am not a novice to this hobby, but have taken a significant break from it. I spent about 6 years with a digital camera, then took a complete break from photography for 3 years. At that point, I bought a medium format film camera, and used it for about 18 months. I returned to the digital photography fold recently, with the purchase of a used Pentax K-50 camera kit. I have an abundance of free time, but a rather limited budget to play with.

There are a lot of posts on this forum that discuss the latest equipment, and that is okay. After all Ricoh/Pentax is a camera and lens manufacturer. Some people have been life long Pentax supporters, and I can see why... they make great products. But there doesn't seem to be much discussion here about how to encourage people who are interested in photography, but with less abundant financial resources to buy a decent digital camera.

The number of cameras being sold these days has dwindled sharply from what it was 5 - 10 years ago. We can blame cell phone manufacturers for some of that, but it "is what it is." To encourage newcomers into the Pentax (or any brand) of camera and lens ownership, we need to give them multiple reasons to do so and make our case at multiple price points. It might be worth running a thread where people can suggest camera and lens packages to suit varying budgets, in both the new and used camera realms. That is why I am starting this thread.

Let me start off with the photography package I put together over the last five weeks for just under $1,150 CAD: