Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-20-2022, 11:08 PM - 1 Like   #1
Pentaxian

Why you want a Leica ?

Hi there,

I only played with one Leica the M2, it was super quiet and well made, but I would not have bought it if it wasn't heavily used and sold in affordable price, coz I don't think it worth so much when new, in comparison the Bessa R2M was more reasonably priced, and it had user friendly design at least the film loading. I am not anti-Leica, and I know one of the reasons Leica cost so must was hand made/assembly instead of mass produced by machine, and German optics are the best in the world, but Japanese made are not too far off these days. I don't know the changes in Leica after it switched digital as I did not follow, but I believe with the same lot of money I could get 2-3 sets of Japanese equivalent. I am a real photographer and will shoot with every piece of equipment I purchased, instead of to put them in the safe box most of the time like jewellery. I don't think modern Leica can live with rough use like the Pentax, I worked in a German electronic office equipment company when I was young, and I've seen too many of failure on the electronics part that uncommon to see in Japanese equivalent, and my Metz flash gun failed early while my Nissin one still ticking, I can say that German electronics are unreliable. I don't know if Leica produced the digital cameras all by itself or partner with Panasonic, but I would go for Japanese made instead of the Leica even if I won a lottery, sorry guys but I still respect Leica but it's not for me !

Last edited by lotech; 07-20-2022 at 11:25 PM.
07-21-2022, 12:21 AM - 4 Likes   #2
Unregistered User

Thanks for letting us know you don't want a Leica.
07-21-2022, 12:29 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery