Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 13 Likes Search this Thread
04-25-2023, 04:58 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Flickr best practices

For those who use Flickr to share photos (and presumably have a Pro [paid] account) what do you do re: viewing permissions, EXIF data, etc? I do not have GPS info in the pix, not that I care if someone sees I was in La Crosse last Friday. I do see a lot of Flickr links here on the PF, what do you folks do to lock down stuff?

I plan to publish via LRC (it generates a pretty nice jpg) and in the past I have made most of my uploaded pictures viewable by friends and family only, but anyone with a link to a photo or an album can see them (I think).

I'm not a pro photographer (clearly ) and I'm not particularly concerned with someone stealing a picture and selling it, but I guess that is always a concern.

As much as I enjoy the PF, I'd like a easier way to share the higher quality images (for critiques and *hopefully* compliments) and the "Manage Attachments" requires an extra step plus reduces the resolution. Sandy H shared a few in another thread and it was so cool I knew I had to start doing it. The Flickr URL was embedded in the post.

Cheers!

04-25-2023, 05:37 PM - 3 Likes   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

I don't put anything on the internet that I really don't want disseminated. My Flickr account is pretty much an open door. I think I have one private image.
04-25-2023, 06:06 PM - 2 Likes   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
These are setting I use for public photos:
(In Account Settings)
Global Settings:
Who can download your images (including originals)? Friends & Family
Largest shared image size Best display size
Allow others to share your stuff No
Who can add you to a photo? Any Flickr member
Allow your stuff to be added to a gallery Yes
Hide your EXIF data No
Hide your stuff from public searches. No
Hide your profile from public searches No