Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 201 Likes Search this Thread
05-29-2023, 03:31 AM - 1 Like   #1
Closed Account

Why i use my camera less and less

I'm a Scientist by training. I have a Science Naturalist page with 161 followers right now at: www.piziak.com

Years ago I had my camera backpack with me on my motorcycle and took a lot of great pics I have on Flickr (at Michael Piziak | Flickr).

One thins is, as being a Naturalist and going into the woods all the time, you'd think I'd want the camera with me always like before. Actually, I already have so muich stuff to pack that it just becomes an added burden: Extra clothes and raincoats for changing conditions, drinks, tobacco (yep that or vape), police sized Maglite, mp3 player, fishing pole, the list goes on. And I'm riding a street and trail Yamaha.

If you visit my Science Naturalists page you'll see how I operate (again at piziak.com).

I observe then explain what I observed most of the time. I've found that nearly anything I can observe has already had a picture taken of it. Like people going to reproduce an Ansel Adams photograph. I just google something like "water turtle" and click images and there's a free picture of the same, type, and size of huge turtle I almost caught twice on the fishing pole.

Has anyone else experienced this? I'm not even talking about using a cell phone to take pics. It just seems like all the photos of the world and Universe have already been taken by someone else.

If I come across anything simply far out amazing that no one has ever seen before, I'll regret this decision then, but probnably won't convince me to take camera along.

Michael Piziak, B.S., MA. +30

05-29-2023, 04:26 AM - 8 Likes   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Michael Piziak Quote
It just seems like all the photos of the world and Universe have already been taken by someone else.