Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 201 Likes Search this Thread
05-31-2023, 07:15 AM - 10 Likes   #46
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Rondec Quote
..... most of us also come to the conclusion that our photos aren't ever going to approach the artistry of some of the greats of the past.
I've been doing photography for 50 years and in that time I have managed to take maybe half a dozen great photographs that are equal to anything shot by the old masters over hundreds of thousands of images.
Some would say that is a terrible success ratio, and perhaps it is, but it's not going to stop me from trying.

I treat photography the same way my neighbor treats fishing. He doesn't fish to catch fish, he does it because he likes sitting in a canoe on a lake. The fishing pole is his justification, and if he catches dinner, that's a bonus, he gets to have fresh fish for supper.

Hobbies are a relaxation endeavor. It's what we do to empty our minds of the useless dross that day to day living tries to distract us with. It really doesn't matter what we do for a hobby, the important thing is that we do stuff that brings us some sort of inner peace.

For some people, that is fishing, for others it's rebuilding a rusted out hulk into a working automobile, or gardening, carpentry or any other activity that gives some sort of inner satisfaction.

I feel sorry for people who don't have hobbies as they don't have that outlet.

05-31-2023, 08:38 AM - 3 Likes   #47
csa
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

One other thing that keeps my interest up. Due to medical problems, I've had little chance to use my equipment. This was so depressing, as I finally had the perfect kit (for me), and it sat there, looking as forlorn as I did. Now that I'm able to take a few photos, now; doesn't matter to me if it's a beautiful deer, sunset, birds, or even just a blade of grass; it's so fulfilling to have that camera in my hands once again.