Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-26-2023, 08:20 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Highest ISO you recommend

I'm still learning about the use of my k-1. I didn't realize the ISO went so high. What is the highest ISO you recommend using before the quality deteriorates.

11-26-2023, 08:35 AM - 7 Likes   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The short answer is that it depends on your taste and tolerance , crank up the ISO and experiment, gpdigital images cost almost nothing but time, take as many as you wish until you find your acceptable limit.
The amount of noise that is both noticeable as well as degrading to the final image is dependent on the subject you are photographing and the environmental conditions . Generally low light and high ISO yields noisy images, but high ISO in brighter lighting allows for higher shutter speeds and less noise.
Also, some software can reduce noise quite a-bit, which allows for higher ISO usage.
11-26-2023, 08:42 AM - 3 Likes   #3
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Photogoof Quote
ighest ISO you recommend
One that still meets your needs and tolerance for noise and dynamic range See below...

I'm still learning about the use of my k-1. I didn't realize the ISO went so high. What is the highest ISO you recommend using before the quality deteriorates.