Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
1 Like  #1
Raindrops...until I get a proper lens
Posted By: EllenJ, 05-15-2014, 07:41 AM

I'm just learning how to use my first DSLR, the K-50. I plan to get a lens for close-up photography, although not necessarily true macro. For now, I have the kit lenses (and a Sigma zoom that is probably better). These are the types of shots I'd like to get, although closer -- I had to settle for cropping here. All with the SMC Pentax-DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL WR.

I also want to shoot insects, and from what I've read, I should get something in the 90-100mm neighborhood if I'm getting only one macro lens because I won't be able to get close enough otherwise. I'd appreciate any thoughts.

In the meantime, a few of my attempts from this morning. These were handheld since the tripod shots were worse.

Views: 1,463
05-15-2014, 08:23 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Good Job!

Hi Ellen, welcome to the forum!
Overall, I'd say you got pretty good results from the kit zoom, about as much as you can expect from a non-macro lens. The B+W and last shot are especially nice, fine work!
# 1 and 2 are composed and photographed well, but the distracting background elements don't help. On the first one, if you crouched down and put a completely green b/g behind the plant, no clash of shapes and colors.
Same for # 2, move a bit right or left and eliminate the gray vertical shape (wood?) and slanting diagonals, it could be better overall.
Hope you don't mind my mini-critique! I started a thread here on creative backgrounds, it may provide some examples.
I have the 18-55mm W/R, and have used it for 'close-ups' in a pinch. By stopping down to (at least) f/8.0 and not extending to a full 55mm (about 50mm seems OK) you eliminate 2 of the weaker areas of this lens; shooting wide-open and softness at full zoom.
But, you're still better off with a dedicated macro lens, no doubt.