Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-20-2014, 04:27 PM   #1

14 Year Old Photographer Needs Help on Products for Macro Photography

Hi there! I am a 14 year old photographer who invested in Pentax, and now I want to explore macro photography, and I need help purchasing a macro lens / extension tubes / macro filters.

I use the Pentax K-3, and I have about $150 to invest in Macro photography. I have no idea on what to do. I hear extension tubes are good, but could I get an old macro lens that would be better? As I said, I have $150 to spend, which means I probably won't be able to buy and AF lens.

Does anyone have any suggestions on macro options? Like, are extension tubes good enough, or should I invest in a manual focus macro lens? Of course, the faster, sharper ect. lens would be preferred.

Thanks for all your help! I really appreciate it!

-Matt

12-20-2014, 04:54 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome, and congratulations on your K-3! It's possible to achieve high magnification at high quality for pretty low cost. If that sounds too good to be true, it comes at the cost of convenience and versatility. But it's well worth exploring this route, especially given your budget.

I would start with a lens you can use for normal photography as well as for macro. Depending on what magnification range you want, simplest would be a fully-manual macro lens, such as the Pentax-M 50/4. These can be had for under US$100. However, this lens only goes to 1:2 magnification, that is, half life size on the sensor. Put another way, at 1:2 you would fill the frame with a subject about 2 inches on the long side. To get to 1:1 with that lens, you could add 50mm of extension, or you could reverse it (with a reversing ring).