Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
02-12-2015, 07:08 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
New to Macro : I need your advice!

So I'm new to the DSLR world, and especially new to the concept of Macro Photography.
BUT, I love seeing all the macro shots posted here and I would really like to get into it (if my budget allows).

Currently my gear is very limited:
18-135mm WR
Rikenon 50mm M 1.7
Cheapo tripod
wired shutter remote
Just bought a set of extension tubes off Amazon (7mm, 14mm, 28mm)

So my questions are:
Should I invest in a lens such as a 100mm F4 Macro (manual lens to go with the tubes?)
Or are the tubes not going to do much for that lens? I've read that the tubes will suck the light out of the already slow lens, and at only 49mm of extension, I still wouldn't get 1:1.

A true 1:1 lens is out of budget right now...
So would the 50mm 1.7 I have create decent shots with the 49mm of extension I have shipping to me right now?

I'll be sure to post results once they come in. Just wanna know what my next few steps should be.
I'd love it if I could afford the 100mm 2.8 WR Macro and a true ring flash to accompany it, but sadly I'm just an enthusiast looking to expand his hobby piece by piece.
Maybe one day I will justify such a purchase...

Thanks for any and all advice you may have.

02-12-2015, 07:23 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Plenty of great threads.
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/10-pentax-slr-lens-discussion/288412-look...ggestions.html

Are you doing static subjects? Lighting will probably be your biggest concern, as you already know.
02-12-2015, 07:30 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian