Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-21-2015, 11:18 PM   #1

Please recommend me a macro lens!

Hello,

I'm fairly new to photography and own a Pentax ME Super. I want to get into macro photography and am wondering if anyone could recommend a good compatible lens (with at least 1:1 magnification).

Thanks!

05-22-2015, 12:15 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nearly any model in the 90-105mm range is good - really no poor ones optically and the focus distance is sufficient for bugs and other critters as well as flowers. I have used Tamron 90 f2.5 manual and newer f2.8 AF, the Cosina 100/3.5 (1:2 max, aka Vivitar, Promaster and even Pentax!) and Sigma 105. I also owned the Sigma 50 AF and it was optically excellent, but 35-50mm macros will crowd living things to get near 1:1 reproduction. Many people are fine with that, see reviews of the DA 35/2.8 Limited for proof! The Sigma 70 sits between the two groups and it is also very well regarded.

One common issue with macros is AF speed, which can be slow if a focus limiter is not available. Many other folks prefer manual focus for macros, which saves funds over current models. I've used Pentax-A 50 and 100mm with nice results, but 1:2 max on those without tubes or diopter lens.

I currently await delivery on a manual Sigma 50/2.8 with A-aperture, and will be satisfied with bugs at 1:2 scale Last I looked KEH had an UGly copy of this for $35; I went for a less-ugly auction model and paid about $100.

Edit .. Yup still there! KEH Link

Last edited by jimr-pdx; 05-22-2015 at 12:27 AM.
05-22-2015, 12:19 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I have used the Tamron SP90 F2.5 adaptall with an extension tube on a Canon T90 once, I was not very successful with it due to using it indoors without any extra lighting and my own ignorance of macro, but it has a good reputation. Look in the 3rd party lens reviews.