Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
09-05-2017, 11:16 PM - 1 Like   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
How to take a Macro Photo

Lets leave lenses behind now .. And I will make this my last post !

So the how ?
Do you free hand , do you tripod ?
Ask any expert , and they will tell you tripod . Those guys that get their pictures posted in Nat Geo , they drag a tripod around .. If they can take a shot with a tripod , they will do so !
And the reason is to eliminate movement and utilize a far larger rang of camera settings . ( That's what the experts do )

I am not an expert , I will never call myself or consider myself an expert . To do so is simply implying you know better ! ( I don't - I only know what I know from the doing ) I don't want to tell people what to do ! I simply want to plant a seed and allow people to chose their own direction ( method ) . If what I say makes sense and helps you = Fantastic . If not , then I am sorry I wasted your time . To any expert out there , this series was not for you . I in no way shape or form do I think I can tell an expert how to take a photo or what gear to use ( Ur the expert and I am not ) . Unfortunately at the same time I don't really care what equipment U use or how you take a picture . ( That's your business ) .
So if anyone is looking for expert advice , there is plenty on Youtube and on the net freely available . KUDOS to anyone and everyone that puts it out there .

So back to the how .. Lets not worry about the tripod , you use one , you don't , the world is not going to end .

I like to shoot manual , because I have full control of the camera . ( ISO , SHUTTER , APERTURE ) .. Practice practice and experiment in a controlled environment . Get you test subject , go outside and take some test shots . Vary your focus distance , your aperture and ISO settings and see how it affects the picture and more importantly your ability to take the picture .