Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 18 Likes Search this Thread
10-25-2014, 12:21 PM   #16
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by JoshC Quote
I'm not sure who pentax thinks they are targeting but if they are targeting kids, amateurs then they are not going to be looking to go with Pentax, they will look at name first and Pentax wont be on their radar.
I think they were targeting the OP (Clackers). He is the one who bought one. As for targeting professionals...You are not a pro and neither am I. Why would either of us want to buy a camera targeted at and priced for professionals?

Steve

10-25-2014, 12:23 PM   #17
Banned

QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote
I think they were targeting the OP (Clackers). He is the one who bought one. As for targeting professionals...You are not a pro and neither am I. Why would either of us want to buy a camera targeted at professionals?

Steve
How would you know I am not a professional? Pretty sure you don't know me.
10-25-2014, 12:30 PM   #18
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Original Poster
So why would anyone buy this over the cheaper K5 IIs?
You can't even order one from Pentax Australia, Josh. Like the K-500, I bet they've ceased production and only remaining inventory is being sold worldwide.

I think they're dissimilar in purposes anyway. Existing DSLRs have an image problem with a new generation of consumers and you don't get more orthodox in looks and size than the K5.

For image quality it has no AA filter making it sharper than the K-5 and more pixels than the K5-II. Neither have AA capability.

RR pricing sits between the K-50 and K-3. As per modern sales strategies, there are a lot of cows to be milked (look at silver edition K-3s) and at this stage of the product cycle, it's the early adopters.
10-25-2014, 12:36 PM   #19
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter