Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-29-2015, 05:28 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Optical preview vibration

Hi everyone,

I'm still quite new to photography and I've been noticing that when I use optical preview at large apertures (1.8-6), the mirror (I think) appears to 'bounce' and the view through the viewfinder is jogged. While this isn't really an issue to me as it's very quick, should this happen/is it damaging the camera?

It's a k-s2 with da 50mm f1.8 if that is important.

11-29-2015, 05:52 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Optical preview does not move the mirror. It simply closes the aperture. And at f/1.8 it actually does nothing ;-)

So not sure where your problem comes from.
11-29-2015, 06:23 AM   #3
Pentaxian

With pentax cameras the image stabilization is the sensor, not the lens, therefore the optical preview is not stabilized.
11-29-2015, 09:29 AM   #4
Veteran Member

11-29-2015, 11:42 AM - 1 Like   #5
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by jabbershort Quote
It's a k-s2 with da 50mm f1.8 if that is important.
It sounds lens issue. When camera tries to move the aperture lever on the lens, the optic part moves with it, thus the shaking in VF.
Mount another lens on the camera, and mount this lens on another camera if you have and see if it is unique to this lens.
If it is a new purchase, you should return it.
11-29-2015, 12:32 PM   #6
Site Supporter

Original Poster
I've tried it on a couple more lens (18-55&50-200) and I'm getting the same effect, but it is much less noticeable (quicker and the 'bounce' is lesser). One of the lens is borrowed, but the others are both new. I'll take the lot back to the shop and see what they say. Thanks!
11-29-2015, 01:53 PM - 1 Like   #7

On k-50 mirror is for some reason linked with aperture lever, probably on k-s2 is same situation. On k-3 they are separate.
Hope this helps
12-01-2015, 03:06 PM   #8
Site Supporter