Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-15-2016, 09:16 AM   #1
Forum Member

Very first impressions of the K-S2

Mind you, my last digital camera was/is a Konica-Minolta A2, ca. 2004. As it is slowly dying, three functions now dead, I figured it might be time to buy a new camera. Over the last number of years, I could readily see that my phone camera could exceed A2 results, like those images of my family's P&S cameras and phones. It's not so much the hardware specs got unusable, especially the megapixel stupidity, but the firmware/processor side of things.

I started with looking at Pentax products only because I have many K-mount lenses from my Vivitar and Ricoh body days since 1981, including a 1200mm tele. And that I've been using Ricoh XR-7 and XR-P film cameras for many years. ("Ricoh: Proving that the brain behind the brand is more important than what the world sees.") Ironic that they now own Pentax.

After looking at a fair number of other brands and cameras, I came back to Pentax for two reasons. As mentioned, one was the lens compatibility; it just seems right. Free glass to play with, so to speak. At that point, looking at the K50, what a bargain, but with a "but." No A2 fiip screen. So, I looked at the K-S2 with the the flip out and every whicha way LCD screen that it offers. After experiencing the simple up/down version in the A2, I would not want to be able to have the option of low perspective shooting without bending or laying on the ground. More useful than yet another lens. (I've taken many stunning images like that. In fact, put the camera on a monopod with wired remote shutter release, hold just above ground level.) Don't care much about selfies but I guess I'll have to shoot some "just because."