Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2016, 11:33 AM   #1

Pentax K-S2 for product photography?

Hey everyone,

Love this forum! By way of introduction Iím an amateur photographer, a disease I inherited from my parents. I grew up in the dark room my parents had specially built into our home. For years I shot on a 35mm Ricoh SLR with a Pentax K mount and to say I love that camera is an understatement. So, fast forward and 35mm film is replaced by digital and being an amateur photographer I just canít justify the cost of a $,$$$ digital SLR so I moved into inexpensive PHD (Push Here Dummy) cameras. Trying to wrest creative control away from the camera is, as you all know, a process in frustration, but for the most part they capture an image and often that is good enough.

Now my wife needs to take product pictures for her web site and all the softboxes in the world wonít make up for a crappy camera. She asked me for help and in short order Iíd given up getting the quality pictures she needs with our current point-and-shoot. The good news is I can finally justify a digital SLR!

Budget is still an issue and after hours of research the Pentax K-S2 bubbled to the top of the list. The WiFi feature sounds cool on the surface, but it also sounds poorly implemented. Downloading pictures to a smartphone is something someone might want to do, but I can see no use for it in my case. Also, using my old lenses sounds interesting to me from an artistic perspective, but the product pictures take priority so an 18-55mm autofocus lens is a requirement.

There are two question I canít seem to find an answer to: