Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-07-2016, 03:01 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
K-S1 sensor dust

Hi all.

Im new to DSLR photography and seem to be having issues with dust on the sensor.

I know some dust is unavoidable to some degree, but I'm getting dust spots on every image that need cloning out in post processing. This is obviously on wide angle lenses at small apertures but is even obvious on telephoto lenses such as 300mm at F6. I always ensure the camera is off when i change lenses and point the camera body down.

people ive spoken to dont have the same kind of problems. Does anyone else have the same kind of issues ?

Is it something specific to Pentax or the K-S1 ?

04-07-2016, 03:03 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Robinta Quote
Is it something specific to Pentax or the K-S1 ?
Not likely. Do you have an air blower like this one that you could use to clean the sensor? Also, do you have dust removal enabled on startup and/or shutdown?

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
04-07-2016, 03:13 PM   #3

Original Poster
Yes to both Adam. The sensor self cleans both on and off
04-07-2016, 07:37 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Have you tried pointing the camera down and using the blower with the mirror "locked up for sensor cleaning" setting selected from your camera menu, using a "bulb" type blower like a Giottos "Rocket"?

Of course you do NOT want to use anything like canned air, which will ruin your camera.