Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-12-2016, 11:38 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Camera and lens question

I hope that this is the appropriate forum to be posting in, if not I am sorry.

I am new to the DSLR realm and I am looking to purchase a new camera. I am looking at a Pentax K S1 ( body only ) and the lens that I am looking at is the Pentax DA 50mm f1.8 lens. Would this combination work and would this also be a good combination for night time/ dark settings? I go to a lot of shows and help local bands with some pics.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

04-12-2016, 11:42 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yes, that combo will work. All Pentax lenses work with all Pentax DSLR bodies, so that makes things easy (with a few caveats for older lenses/bodies, see this detailed article if you want the full story).

Plus, with the DA 50mm's fast aperture you'd be in good shape for low-light photography. It's a great starter lens.

If you want more features (such as Wi-Fi, an articulating display, dual control wheels, weather sealing, and more drive modes like interval shooting) then I'd recommend stepping up to a K-S2, which should only cost around $150 more brand new. It's a much better value in my opinion. The K-S2 also doesn't have all the silly LEDs everywhere, and it has a "normal" mode dial

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

04-13-2016, 12:07 AM   #3

Original Poster