Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 24 Likes Search this Thread
12-30-2017, 10:16 PM - 1 Like   #16
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
yep, sort out the back focus and you should be good to go
unless it seems de-centred to the bottom left, but that might be the lens corners, and angle of camera.

try photographing a brick wall on tripod, the sensor parallel with the wall, worth a try, see what happens.
edit: yes forgot, as mentioned below, shake reduction off for tripod use

Last edited by beachgardener; 12-30-2017 at 11:36 PM. Reason: add info.
12-30-2017, 10:59 PM - 1 Like   #17
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Timea Quote
Hi all,
Pentax newbie here. My husband and I have just bought our first dslr, the K-S2. So far we have used mostly CSC cameras like the sony nex line and decided to upgrade. We chose the K-S2 for raving reviews about image quality and performance in low light situations, and ended up finding a very good deal for the zoom kit (18-50 DAL and 50-200 DAL). We thought that for our needs for everyday photos, the kit lenses should be fine.
Unfortunately, we are underwhelmed by both lenses... slow AF in any setting, even if you get the desired part in focus, the photo will be unsharp, even with good lighting conditions or with flash. The collapsible kit lens is massively annoying and clumsy, the zoom lens is slow and noisy too. The latter we still need to test better.

Honestly, besides the sharpness and unreliable focus, all else we could deal with. Maybe is us who do something wrong, but the sony kit lens has so far outperformed the pentax one (please don't hate me ).

Came here to ask:
- Are we doing something wrong - or you really cannot expect anything more from a kit lens?
- What would you suggest as a good replacement for starters?