Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-16-2018, 10:55 PM - 10 Likes   #1

So a Canon guy picks up a new K-S2...

I'm an amateur, and not very good one at that. Although I sometimes pretend I'm a serious hobbyist, in reality I just don't have enough time & in that regard I bet I'm like most DSLR buyers. I've had close to 20 years on Canon, I've even spent several years working for a Canon subsidiary (not cameras, but sure learnt an awful lot about image quality).

Courtesy of my time with Canon, I had acquired an EOS M with all the lenses for peanuts. Fantastic image quality which really made me want to do more but the thing was killing me. I missed SO many shots due to that slow focus, LCD screen which was unusable in bright sunlight and horrid battery life. I decided to give my old 450D another go but quickly realized it was outclassed in resolution, colour & almost any other aspect by my smartphone of all things. No amount of post-processing could get it good enough. So then, off to the shop to grab the next most compact DSLR I could find (I enjoy the small size of the EOS M). This was/is the Canon SL1... until someone told me the Pentax KS-2 was within millimetres and was weather-proof to boot.

Unfortunately this was about the time the KS-2 production was winding down. Long story short, after chasing some K-3's, K-70 and even new old-stock K-50, the dealer pulled out a new old-stock KS-2 for me as I was picking up the K-50. Sure, the K-70 is better but at nearly half the price for the KS-2, it was a much cheaper way to try a Pentax and leave plenty of budget for more lenses. If it doesn't work out, well, I'm not going to be crying over it at this cost level!

From what I've read, there are 3 big reasons not to get a Pentax and why it didn't matter to me: