Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
02-02-2021, 01:04 PM   #1

Where can i find a replacement cable for my KS-2's internal LCD?

Hello,

My secondhand(no warranty) pentax KS-2's internal LCD stopped displaying images today. Everything works fine with an external display. After opening it up, I saw that the video cable for the screen was all frayed up. I called pentax's listed repair service and they said its 250 minimum to even work on the camera before parts. Does anyone know where I could find a replacement cable for my screen? I really need this camera for school (I'm a photo/film student in college) and absolutely cannot afford the repair cost. Alternatively, does anyone on this forum have a junked KS-2 I could buy off them for parts? any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
DSC-RX100  Photo 
02-02-2021, 01:16 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Oof. Brutal that a little frayed cable might cost you $250.

Thing is, and it's good news/bad news: the K-S2 appears to be a far healthier camera than the K-30 and K-50. So there might not be all that many junk K-S2 cameras around to be cannibalized for parts. I think it's well worth the repair, but I remember my college days, and I might not have been able to swing $250 back then, either.

Hopefully, somebody here can tell you if that cable is common among other Pentax cameras.

Let us know how it goes. If it becomes an issue of not being able to complete your coursework, I have a full-functional K200D I could lend you for the semester. I'm not going to pretend my K200D can do all that my K-S2 can, but PM me if you'd like a free loaner.

Last edited by PocketPixels; 02-02-2021 at 01:23 PM. Reason: clarified repair cost
02-02-2021, 01:28 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by PocketPixels Quote
Oof. Brutal that a little frayed cable might cost you $250.