Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 16 Likes Search this Thread
06-22-2022, 06:07 AM   #1

KS-2 Aperture Block Question

Although i have had my Pentax KS-2 Since new i am not a prolific camera user. I have had other Camera's as well as the KS-2 hence why it has a quite low shutter count (821). It is now my only DSLR and something i would never part with and would just like to know if the Aperture Block problem occurs after a certain time limit or after heavy usage ie:- High Shutter usage or is it something that can happen randomly at any time. It's been something that has worried me for quite a long time but i never got round to asking. It's just something that would be nice to know even though i see it's repairable.

Thanks in Advance
Tim

06-22-2022, 06:18 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Wizhunter Quote
Although i have had my Pentax KS-2 Since new i am not a prolific camera user. I have had other Camera's as well as the KS-2 hence why it has a quite low shutter count (821). It is now my only DSLR and something i would never part with and would just like to know if the Aperture Block problem occurs after a certain time limit or after heavy usage ie:- High Shutter usage or is it something that can happen randomly at any time. It's been something that has worried me for quite a long time but i never got round to asking. It's just something that would be nice to know even though i see it's repairable.

Thanks in Advance

Tim
Yours seems to be the type of usage most likely to trigger it. When did you last use it? My K-50 has a shutter count well under 10000 and was fine until I left it unused for around 18 months. After that the first shot or two would be dark. You might be lucky but as you say the fix is fairly straightforward and made easier now that Pentax seem to finally have a reliable new alternative to the white solenoid.

06-22-2022, 06:49 AM   #3

Original Poster