Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-15-2022, 04:23 PM   #1

k-s2 spot metering / PEF vs DNG

Hello Pentaxians

I am new to Pentax. Bought a K-S2 and added the 35mm macro limited.
Only one thing i cant figure out: Spot metering!
I have used Nikon an Canon before, and i often used spot metering. I just cant find it on the k-s2.

Another question: PEF vs DNG. Which should i use?
Its great that they offer DNG. But they do they also offer the PEF format? Is there any gain in image quality from the PEF files?

Thanks in advance.

07-15-2022, 06:52 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by MrKrusty Quote
Hello Pentaxians

I have used Nikon an Canon before, and i often used spot metering. I just cant find it on the k-s2.

Its great that they offer DNG. But they do they also offer the PEF format? Is there any gain in image quality from the PEF files?

Thanks in advance.
Look in your manual under AE metering

DNG is an Adobe created standard, PEF is Pentax Proprietary, I don't think there is a difference.
07-15-2022, 07:12 PM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hello Pentaxians

Thanks in advance.
Welcome to the forum.

Metering is set as per the image I've posted from the manual.

There is no image resolution advantage to either the PEF or the DNG format, from camera, but DNG, as the universal Adobe format, may be readable on more devices or with more software.
Attached Images

07-17-2022, 01:59 AM   #4

Original Poster
Hi Mark.