Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1204 Likes Search this Thread
01-25-2016, 03:29 AM - 1 Like   #541
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Spend time on pentaxforums.com. Then go out and try out what you have learned.

01-25-2016, 03:36 AM - 3 Likes   #542
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Do something "wrong"

Take pictures with the $10 lens you bought at a flea market that turned out to be full of fungus, just to see what you can get out of it (after removing the Ricoh pin, we don't want it stuck on there forever).

Skew the color/white balance/saturation settings and see how it skews your results; shoot high ISO on a bright, sunny day; or make a pinhole from an old body cap.

A little play is healthy...

Just don't forget how to put everything back again
01-25-2016, 01:59 PM - 4 Likes   #543

Photos: Gallery
My mom was a good self-taught event and wedding photographer. A few years ago she passed away unexpectedly. Unfortunately, my dad didn't understand about proper care of her equipment and stored it in a damp closet. By the time he passed it along to my daughter, everything was full of fungus. When I had all of it evaluated, they placed a mere $45 value on it. This has made me vigilant about moisture. Lately, I use one of those small, portable dehumidifiers for wall safes that you can plug in to dry back out. You can put it in a drawer, a camera bag, or anywhere you store your lenses. If you can't afford an expensive environmental regulating cabinet, this $15-20 investment could help preserve your precious equipment.
01-25-2016, 05:03 PM - 3 Likes   #544