Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-10-2016, 11:22 AM   #1

Self-Repairable Pentax 18-55mm?

This is a follow up to my post about the fall I took with camera in hand; this time about the lens. The 18-55mm took the brunt of the impact, apparently. Here are some pictures:

I have no experience repairing any lens of any camera, but this looks like I ought to be able to unscrew those 5 small screws around the the part that is broken and put on a new one. It does not look like the part itself should be very expensive, even with a hefty markup.

But am I wrong? Will springs fly and pieces fall onto the floor as soon as I remove the part?

Next question: Where does one get parts like this?

Thanks in advance!

Attached Images

04-10-2016, 11:37 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Hjourzt Quote
Will springs fly and pieces fall onto the floor as soon as I remove the part?
Yes.
Where does one get parts like this?
You don't. Pentax does not sell parts to consumers. You could try for a donor lens on ebay and attempt to swap parts. Personally I would just source ebay for a new lens, the 18-55 is plentiful and not expensive. I hate to lose a piece of gear as much as anybody and I have repaired a number of lenses over the years but in this case, IMHO, not worth the effort. You could swap all the parts successfully and then find that there is internal damage to the optical alignment and have a paperweight anyway.
04-10-2016, 11:40 AM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

In your case, the fact that this lens has a plastic mount probably saved your K-50 from suffering damage, and also isolated the damage to the lens itself.

A DIY mount transplant should be doable, assuming nothing else is wrong with the lens. Here are a few previous discussions on the subject:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/10-pentax-slr-lens-discussion/127674-pent...placement.html