Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-30-2016, 07:53 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
HD DA 16-85 Failure

My 16-85 has mostly stayed on my K-3 since I purchased it direct from Amazon this past December. This morning I put the camera on a tripod to shoot a Rhododendron bush in my yard, and it wouldn't focus. Manual focus doesn't work, either, and there is a catch in the zoom at the wide end!
I will send it to Precision on Monday, I guess. Looking for the box now. Is it necessary to ship in oem box? Or just wrap it in bubble wrap? I'm a Pentax repair center noob... Anyone hear of this problem? The lens has never been dropped or abused.

04-30-2016, 08:18 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Had the same issue with mine. Sent to Precision on 5 April. Nothing since.

Contacted Ricoh this week and they looked into it for me. As far as they can tell Precision sent it to Japan and that is where it is at now.
04-30-2016, 03:03 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Personally, I like to keep my original box and would not ship the lens in it to Precision. I don't know if they would keep track of shipping boxes. I keep the original box in case I ever want to sell the lens.
04-30-2016, 03:50 PM - 1 Like   #4
mee
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Wingincamera Quote
Personally, I like to keep my original box and would not ship the lens in it to Precision. I don't know if they would keep track of shipping boxes. I keep the original box in case I ever want to sell the lens.
I'm pretty sure they DISCARD all packing material. The box considered packing material... I wouldn't risk it.

04-30-2016, 05:37 PM   #5
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote
Precision sent it to Japan
04-30-2016, 06:30 PM   #6
mee
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by shiner Quote
Yeah.

I find that unusual... to ship the lens TO Japan.. usually they ship parts FROM Japan.