Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-30-2018, 11:10 AM   #1

Repairing DA* 16-50 Broken Zoom

So fun fact, Pentax's zoom mechanism is total garbage in this lens. Its a plastic tab that screws into a metal L bracket for zooming. Well over the weekend my zoom ceased to function on my used Pentax DA* 16-50. Now I am a cheapo and refuse to pay more to repair the lens by sending it in, then attempting to fix it myself. I do not advise anyone not comfortable doing this to take apart your lens. I am a Ricoh tier 2 technician on the Copier side and am fairly mechanically inclined so I figured id give this old lens the one over myself. It is not fully repaired yet, as I need some jbweld but hoping that I can get it fixed soon as I have some gigs coming up that require this lens.

Image 1. Broken bracket that holds the metal L bracket that actually does the zooming

Image 2. Slightly bent and distorted L bracket that zooms the lens. It got bent somehow and was scraping the inside barrel of my lens which most likely attributed to the weakening and eventual breaking of the plastic tab holding it in place.

Image 3. Zoom ring. Be careful removing as there are fingers on the inside that tell the camera what MM zoom you are at. If you damage these, it will not be a great day for you.

Image 4. Moisture inside of the front element. I disassembled everything and was able to dry it out and clean it up properly. Everything is in working order now for the optics anyways. Pending the broken zoom repair.

Image 5. Broken seal that let water into my lens during some rain. Sat between the zoom ring and focus rings. Was another reason I wanted to take the lens apart to get it to dry out better since it condensed on the inside element. Beware of used lenses as you never know what the seals conditions are. These seals are rather weak and small. They break easily.