Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-11-2018, 01:53 PM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Pentax Repairs

I have been shooting Pentax for 19 years and am on my 8th camera body, the K1ii. Am I correct that Precision Camera is our only repair option? No one else can get parts? I never required repairs until a 50-135 f2.8 stopped auto focusing. At that time I sent it to the authorized repair center in Chandler AZ. Seemed fair and a reasonably quick turn around. After several years it slowly stopped focusing again. This time it was sent to Precision, it was returned unchanged, still no auto focus. Returned it, came back repaired, however it was assembled in a manner that the lens hood was on crooked at about a 45 degree angle. I escalated this to someone at Pentax who put me in contact with Steve at Precision. I needed the lens back for an important shoot with in two weeks. Steve intervened and the lens was returned in time working perfectly.

However, Steve told me Precision did not have professional service (quick repair turn around as they do for Canon and Nikon) for Pentax. Seemed very odd to me.

Now my K1 ( purchased Aug '16) was received by Precision on Nov 16th and the repair status is "waiting on parts" after nearly a month! If they are the only authorized repair center wouldn't they have all the parts? My K1 from the start had a sticky mirror, worse in cold weather. It became progressively worse, then I screwed up the hot shoe and it was crooked and loose. The movie mode also stopped working.
Knowing I needed this service I pondered renting a camera and wide angle lens locally. Instead I bought the K1ii. Glad I did for I would have spent an equal amount or more on rental fees.