Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-31-2019, 01:41 AM - 9 Likes   #1

Photos: Gallery
SMC M 40mm f/28 Teardown + Balsam Separation Repair

I tried my hand at my first lens repair and what I thought was fungus, turned out to be balsam separation (see 12a/b)
For the 40mm, the only "doublet" element can be accessed through the rear of the lens, so dissambling the ring in the front of the lens is unnecessary, unless you have to for your own lens.
As you can see I am not a professional and I know I'll be roasted for the tools used, but that is all I had on hand.

Aside from the tools, you will need an optical adhesive (I bought on amazon) and a UV light (also bought on amazon (bulb only).
To get the doublet apart, I steeped the element in a insulated water bottle with boiling water for about 6-9hrs. I would change the lukewater every few hours with fresh hot water.
When loose enough, I pressed hard against the lens as if rubbing 2 coins together and it slid right off. The old adhesive resembled a contact lens for human eyes...but your lens might be different.
After, I thoroughly cleaned both lens elements with soap and warm water.

For the UV curing, I kept the UV light on for about 2-3 min, which seems to be more than enough as when I tested it on a sheet of paper, the glue was dry in about 10 seconds or less.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

01-31-2019, 01:58 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Well done! I fear the UV glue but you made it look so easy
01-31-2019, 02:05 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Not bad for a first attempt - you kept the repair area clean and clear. I've seen more advanced technicians workbenches that were covered in dust, debris and half-finished repair jobs.