Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-24-2019, 03:42 AM   #1

14 month old 645z loose USB connection

Hi all

I am a full-time photographer that relies on my cameras to pay the bills. I have always been a Canon user and I am always impressed by the CPN (Canon Professional Network) support and repair service. I recently invested in the Pentax 645z as I was looking for that little bit extra in image quality.

The camera has been OK, however as I tend to shoot tethered 90% of the time in the studio I have noticed that the USB port is becoming looser and looser... I have always used a jerk stopper from Tether tools but unfortunately this has not stopped this from happening.

I today contacted the listed repair centre on the Ricoh website for the UK to be informed by the chap answering the phone that "we don't really deal with the 645z, they have to be sent to France.' When I asked how long I should expect the require to take he replied 'we can't really say, however we have a few 645z's with them and the parts are hard to come by and can take anywhere from 2 weeks to 2 months, 2 weeks being very optimistic!"

As a full-time professional (as I am sure most 645z owners are) this is simply unacceptable. Has anyone else experienced 1) The same fault? (If so how did you resolve it?) 2) This shoddy lackadaisical approach Ricoh seems to have for the clients? 3) The Total lack of support and care towards the 645z camera?

I am bursting point with this camera and company now and if the resale value wasn't so crappy I would have ditched the kit months ago!

Come on Pentax/Ricoh pull your fingers out!

Any sensible suggestions gratefully received.

09-24-2019, 04:05 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by RMP645Z Quote